文本链接
<path d="M4.115 21h15.77C21.932 21 23 19.898 23 17.815V6.196C23 4.112 21.932 3 19.885 3H4.115C2.087 3 1 4.102 1 6.196v11.619C1 19.898 2.087 21 4.115 21zm4.261-8.838c-1.273 0-2.321-1.082-2.321-2.397s1.048-2.397 2.321-2.397 2.312 1.082 2.312 2.397-1.038 2.397-2.312 2.397zm-4.055 6.765c-.823 0-1.313-.506-1.313-1.355v-.849l2.498-2.255c.411-.374.813-.556 1.244-.556.441 0 .911.192 1.313.566l1.753 1.628 4.349-4.004c.451-.405.95-.597 1.46-.597.5 0 1.028.202 1.45.607l3.928 3.752v1.719c0 .839-.529 1.345-1.303 1.345H4.321z" fill="currentColor"/>
图像

图像

通过Vectornator,您可以将图像添至文档中,以帮助您更好地进行设计。您可以用这些图像达成很多目标,包括填色、混合或将它们矢量化成以组成各种新奇的形状。

快来参与!
下载练习素材,从头到尾学习Vectornator。
获取文件
✨ 新的自动跟踪功能 ~ic-auto-trace~~ic-auto-trace~ - 4.8.2版本上市后,我们的自动跟踪总共有三种模式,帮助您改善工作流程,获得最佳结果。

插入图像

要插入一张图像,首先打开 标签库 (1)并使用管理器内最右侧的图标,然后导航到照片(A) Unsplash(B) 标签。

点击 照片栏(A)后会出现一个窗口,显示存储在您的照片应用程序中的相机胶卷和所有不同的专辑和文件夹。只需轻轻点击您想要的图片(1)就可以把它插入到文档中,或者把它拖放到画布上。

您也可以通过导航栏的Unsplash标签(B),直接将图片从Unsplash服务器中导入。
了解更多导入功能 ->

拖放与分割视图

您还可以使用iPad上的分割视图功能,将图像插入您的文档中。

进入分割视图模式:

  1. 打开照片应用程序、Safari浏览器或您的文件,这取决于您想从哪里选取图片。
  2. 从屏幕底部向上滑动以打开程序坞。
  3. 在程序坞中,点击并按住您在使用Vectornator时想打开的第二项应用程序,然后将其从程序坞中拖到屏幕的左侧或右侧边缘。

您也可以通过水平拖动应用分隔条来调整分屏视图,使应用在屏幕上有相等或不同的空间。要关闭分割视图,将应用分隔条拖到您想关闭的应用上。

进入分割视图后,选择您想要的照片,并从第二视图中直接拖入Vectornator文档。

如何在iPad上用分割视图插入图像

调整图像的大小

对于任何图像,您可以按住并拖动四个角中的一个来调整其大小。在画布上按住第二个手指或者按住~key~⇧~key~ ,以保持比例不变。您还可以通过使用工具栏中的 缩放模式

裁剪图片

把位图照片导入画布或艺术板后,图像处理部分~ic-photos-app-tab~~ic-photos-app-tab~ 将自动出现在屏幕右侧的管理器中,位于位置菜单的正下方。您可以点击裁剪进入裁剪模式,根据所需要的X和Y值调整裁剪框。

对效果满意时,点击完成按钮,即可得到裁剪后的图片。

如果你想继续裁剪,可以继续点击“裁剪”,会自动进入裁剪模式,你可以继续裁剪照片,因为裁剪手柄再次变得可移动。

另一个重新激活裁剪操作的方法是在被裁剪的图像上点两下;这时原始图像就会完全显示出来,之前冻结的裁剪手柄又可以移动了。

注意:裁剪光栅图像是一个破坏性的操作--与使用遮罩的裁剪不同。如果你想扭转裁剪操作,请点击撤销~ic-undo~~ic-undo~ 。

混合模式

混合模式的主要功效是以不同的方法将位图颜色与底层对象的颜色混合。下列图片将展示,当上方的圆形采用不同的混合模式时,两种不同的图像是如何互相融合的。

iPad上图像的混合模式

以下我们提供了几种不同的混合模式,以便您在Vectornator中的图像功能中使用:

正常

正常'混合模式'在大多数应用程序中是默认的。顶层图像的颜色将全部覆盖底层图像。

变暗

这种混合模式显示的是基础和混合图像的最暗值。如果颜色相同或重叠图层比原图层浅,它不会显示任何改变。

叠乘

这种混合模式将基础色(粉色方块)与混合图像(月亮图像)的颜色相乘。此选项特别适用于阴影处理。如果您想快速地将一个白色背景的素材应用到样稿中,而免去手动删除它的麻烦,叠乘模式可以帮助您轻松实现这一点

色相

它用基础色的亮度和饱和度以及混合色的色调来创建一个新的颜色。从本质上讲,设置为色相的顶部混合形状将用你放在混合形状上的任何颜色为下面的形状"着色",并调整颜色以接受下面的层的亮度和饱和度。

学习Vectornator
通过使用这个Vectornator样本文件,了解如何创建你的下一个设计。

自动跟踪

更新后的Vectornator自动跟踪功能让您能够将任何像素图像(JPEG或PNG)转换成矢量艺术作品。有了这个功能,您可以根据现有的作品或参考照片创建全新的图像,而不需要手工绘制矢量图形。您可以将您在纸上画的草图转化成矢量图,并根据自己的喜好将其缩放。

Vectornator的自动跟踪功能可以把照片转换为惟妙惟肖的矢量作品,或者也可把你最欢的图标转换为矢量。

我们的4.9.0版本开发了自动跟踪的最新功能,即插画模式。

我们的每一种跟踪模式都会自动显示特定的参数以达到最佳效果。

自动跟踪素描,摄影和插图的vectornator

如何访问自动跟踪面板

自动跟踪面板是一个内容感知的菜单,这意味着它只有在选择图像时才会显示。一旦画布上的图像被选中,该面板就会自动出现在检查器顶部的样式标签(1)。

在自动跟踪面板中,您有三种踪模式可供选择:

  • A -照片模式,用于将照片变成油画般的矢量图。
  • B -涂鸦模式,在几秒钟内将你的黑白涂鸦转换成矢量。
  • C -插图模式,将你的像素插画矢量化。

点击模式按钮(2)选择你要使用的模式来跟踪你的图像。

自动跟踪器中的面板

只要您将图像选中,快速操作栏内就会自动弹出自动跟踪 ~ic-auto-trace~~ic-auto-trace~ 菜单(3)。

Vectorornator中的自动跟踪插图模式
CoreML机器学习的帮助下,自动跟踪分析你的图像

涂鸦模式的参数

当选择了涂鸦模式(1),您可以用以下两个滑块调节参数:

  • A - 复杂度:数值越小,从原图拆解出的色块的数目越少,反之则越大
  • B - 对比度:该滑块决定了某种颜色被判断为黑色或者白色的程度,数值越高,导出颜色更趋近于黑色,数值越低,越趋近于白色。

设置完以上两项参数后,点击 跟踪按钮(2),等待几秒,结果即可显示。

自动跟踪矢量图的涂鸦模式

下面,您可以看到几个例子,用来展示不同的参数所产生的不同效果。

涂鸦模式的最终效果是黑白矢量图形。

如果图片的对比度不是很高,对比度的参数调节对最终效果来说非常重要。

自动跟踪老虎的矢量涂鸦

插图模式参数

插图模式(1)被选中时,会出现一项菜单栏,内有一个滑块、三个按钮和两个切换键,用于控制以下参数:

  • A -最小路径尺寸。您可以在这里定义路径尺寸的阈值。设定值越高,两点间的路径就越长。设定值越低,两点间的距离就越短。点与点之间的路径越短,对应的详细程度就越高。插画模式的最小路径尺寸默认设置为10。
  • B -详细程度。此滑块定义了所产生的追踪矢量图像中的详细程度。您可以自由选择普通三个模式。低级模式会呈现详细程度较少的追踪图像,而中级到高级的最终成像会包含更多原始图像细节。
  • C -简化路径→ 如果激活简化路径,将创建较少的节点。该模式最适合于描摹线条简单、不复杂的图案。如果激活该模式,可以省下不少描图的时间。
  • D -保留源图像。你激活保留源图像后,原始位图将被保留。点开图层序列,在追踪后的矢量图像下方,即可找到原始卫图。原始位图将与追踪后的矢量图像都组合在图层菜单内。

调整了上述设置后,点击自动跟踪按钮,等待几秒钟,直到跟踪过程完成。

Autotrace如何工作的例子
插画模式只适用于A12处理器或其相应的设备,如iPhone XR / iPad Air第三代和更新版本,以及M1 MacBooks或更高版本。

下面,您可以看到几个例子,用来展示不同的参数所产生的不同效果。

  1. 对于较为复杂的插图,我们建议你将最小路径尺寸值设置为10-20%左右,并将细节级别设置为。(在下面的例子中,我们将最小路径大小设置为12%)。
艺术作品由Kelly Llanos绘制
  1. 你可以将插图模式用于扁平式插图。在这种情况下,我们建议将最小路径尺寸值减少到0%,并将细节程度设置为
Autotrace如何在平面插图中工作的例子
  1. 也可以对绘画插图使用插图模式,就像下面的例子。我们将最小路径尺寸值设置为10%,细节级别设置为高,因为作品中包含了一些细节。如果有任何渐变,自动跟踪将把所有渐变合并成一种颜色。你可以点击 大纲模式来查看效果
如果你想了解更多关于新的插图模式功能背后的开发过程,请阅读与我们的开发人员Marko的访谈

如何优化自动追踪结果

自从我们最近的4.8.2更新后,我们引入了三个全新的自动跟踪选项,帮助您改善工作流程并获得最佳效果。这些新的切换键是简化(1)忽略白色背景(2)保留源图像(3)。下面,我们将向您简要介绍其属性和功能。自动追踪按钮现在以蓝色显示,以便用户更快的找到。

将图像转换成矢量图形

如果您激活了~ic-toggle-on~~ic-toggle-on~ 简化切换键,自动追踪将创建节点较少的矢量图形。这种模式最适合于形状简单的图像。一旦您激活简化模式,会极大减少追踪过程所需的时间。

简化图像作为矢量图形的比较

在涂鸦(草稿)模式下,您可以选择打开或关闭忽略白色背景功能。 通过新的忽略白色背景功能,您可以定义自动跟踪是否从白色图像区域创建矢量形状。 当在涂鸦模式中打开忽略白色背景时,源图像的所有白色区域将被擦除。

如果您在跟踪图像时打开了"忽略白色背景"的切换键~ic-toggle-on~~ic-toggle-on~ ,结果产生的多个形状被自动组合为复合路径。这意味着涉及路径的编辑都会影响整个复合路径结构。复合路径由至少两个开放或封闭的路径所创建。创建复合路径时,所有原先选定的路径都会被转换为新复合路径的子路径。整个路径的描边和填色参数默认与堆叠顺序中最后那条路径相同。如果您想分开复合路径,可以在路径菜单中点击分离按钮。

当忽略白色背景被关闭时~ic-toggle-off~~ic-toggle-off~ ,追踪过程中产生的路径将成为一个组,在图层菜单内可见。

在Vectornator中自动跟踪结果的比较,没有白色

如果您激活了 保留源图像 ~ic-toggle-on~~ic-toggle-on~ ,在跟踪过程结束后,原始图像将被保留。在图层组织结构中,原始图像位于新追踪的矢量图像下面。被追踪的图像和原始图像都在图层菜单 ~ic-layers-tab~~ic-layers-tab~ 内被编为一组。

照片模式的各项参数

照片模式也包含两个参数滑块,您可以由此调节路径的数目和大小:

  • A - 复杂度:该滑块决定转换后,矢量色块的数目。用手指在滑块上来回滑动,即可调节包含路径的百分比。数值越小,最终效果越模糊,数值越高,最终效果越精确。
  • B - 最小路径尺寸:该滑块决定了路径的大小。数值越大,路径上两锚点之间的距离越长,最终效果也越模糊;数值越小,路径上两锚点之间的距离越短,最终效果也越清晰。

设置完以上两项参数后,点击 跟踪按钮(2),等待几秒,结果即可显示。

⚠️ 请注意,自动跟踪功能不支持包含8位Alpha通道的RGBA图像,因为该功能只能将含有8位Alpha通道的像素识别为黑色,而非白色。

如何编辑矢量图像

图像完成从位图到矢量的转化之后,您可以直接编辑路径

⚠️ 自动跟踪功能具有破坏性,一旦您将位图转化为矢量图之后,将无法再编辑自动跟踪的参数。如果您想重新设定参数,可以通过撤销来完成。

如果您想继续编辑,可以通过锚点工具来删除或者增加锚点。或者进入路径菜单,点击删除锚点按钮来将编辑矢量图形。

视频回顾|自动跟踪

现在,矢量的强大功能得到了进一步体现。Vectornator的自动跟踪功能依据专项算法,将您的草图和照片变成无尽的可编辑的矢量图形。与其花几个小时用钢笔工具描摹复杂的设计,自动追踪功能可以减轻大量的工作。您可以通过创建或删除路径、编辑节点、改变颜色以及更多的方式来完善细节。

自动跟踪对黑白草图的效果很好,这要归功于我们的 涂鸦模式。在下列视频中,我们展示了不同的例子,以帮助您更好地调整复杂度和对比度参数,让您的矢量草图连细节部分也完美呈现。

获取软件
在此下载PDF版本。
最后更新于2022年12月15
是否有帮助?
掌握Vectornator的力量

拓展你的技能,应对下一个挑战,我们的教程和课程将帮助你在专业水平上掌握矢量设计。

转到学院

Text Link
<path d="M4.115 21h15.77C21.932 21 23 19.898 23 17.815V6.196C23 4.112 21.932 3 19.885 3H4.115C2.087 3 1 4.102 1 6.196v11.619C1 19.898 2.087 21 4.115 21zm4.261-8.838c-1.273 0-2.321-1.082-2.321-2.397s1.048-2.397 2.321-2.397 2.312 1.082 2.312 2.397-1.038 2.397-2.312 2.397zm-4.055 6.765c-.823 0-1.313-.506-1.313-1.355v-.849l2.498-2.255c.411-.374.813-.556 1.244-.556.441 0 .911.192 1.313.566l1.753 1.628 4.349-4.004c.451-.405.95-.597 1.46-.597.5 0 1.028.202 1.45.607l3.928 3.752v1.719c0 .839-.529 1.345-1.303 1.345H4.321z" fill="currentColor"/>
Images

Images

In Vectornator, you can add images to your documents to aid in your design process. You can do a lot with these images, including color filling, blending, or vectorizing them into new and exciting forms.

Follow Along!
Learn Vectornator from A to Z with this downloadable sample file.
Download File
✨ New Auto Trace Features ~ic-auto-trace~~ic-auto-trace~ Since our latest 4.8.2 update, we have introduced three brand new Auto Trace toggles that help you improve your workflow and obtain optimal tracing results.

Inserting Images

To insert an image, open the Library Tab (1) using the right-most icon in the Inspector Bar and navigate to the Photos (A) or the Unsplash (B) Tab.

Selecting the Photos Tab (A) will bring up a window showing your device's camera roll and all the different Albums and Folders you have stored in your Photos App. Simply tap your desired image (1) to insert it into the document or drag and drop it onto the canvas.

You can also insert an image directly from the Unsplash service by navigating to the Unsplash Tab (B).
Learn more about this integration in the Import section ->

Drag & Drop with Split View

You can also use the Split View feature on your iPad to insert an image into your document.

To enter Split View mode:

  1. Open the Photos App, Safari, or your Files, depending on where you want to pick the images from.
  2. Swipe up from the bottom of the screen to open the Dock.
  3. In the Dock, touch and hold the second app that you want to open while using Vectornator, then drag it off the dock to the left or right edge of the screen.

You can also adjust the Split View to give the apps equal or different space on the screen by dragging the app divider bar horizontally. To close Split View, drag the app divider bar over the app that you want to close.

Once in Split View, select your desired photo and drag it straight from your second view into your Vectornator Document.

how to insert an image with Split View on iPad

Resizing an Image

With any image, you can hold and drag one of the four corners to resize it. Hold a second finger on the canvas or press ~key~⇧~key~ to keep the proportions the same. You can also resize an image by using the Scale Mode inside the Toolbar.

Editing Images

Because it is a vector-editing software, Vectornator has only a small selection of raster-editing tools, but the software also includes some alternative methods you can use to crop images or remove the background.

Cropping an image

To crop a raster image in Vectornator, you can use the Masking feature. First, put the clipping mask on top of the raster image in the position you want. Then, select both the shape and the image with our Multi Selection Tool. Then, tap the Mask button inside the Quick Actions or in the Path Tab.

Your image will be automatically cropped by the shape you chose and a subtle ~key~M~key~ will appear at the bottom right corner of the masked object.

If you want to edit the mask, simply double-tap on it using the Selection Tool. When in Editing mode, you can easily change the position of your masking object. Also, all the other elements present onto your canvas will be greyed out. To exit editing double-tap again.

Blend Modes

Blend modes influence how an image's pixels are affected by a painting or editing tool. The image below showcases how two different images interact when the top circle has different blend modes applied.

blend modes for images on iPad

Here are a few examples of blend modes that you'll be able to use on your images in Vectornator:

Normal

The ‘normal’ blend mode is default in most applications. It obscures the lower layer by covering it with whatever is present in the top layer.

Darken

This blend mode shows the darkest values of the base and the blend images. It will not change anything if the colors are the same or the overlapped layer is lighter than the original.

Multiply

This blend mode multiplies the base color by the blend image. This option is great to use for shading. If you want to quickly apply an asset with a white background to your comp without bothering to manually remove it, you can easily do that with multiply!

Hue

It creates a result color with the luminance and saturation of the base color and the hue of the blend color. Essentially, the top blend shape, set to Hue, will “color” the shapes below with whatever color you put on the blend shape, and adjust the color to take on the brightness and saturation of the layers beneath.

Learn Vectornator
Learn how to create your next design by using this Vectornator sample document.

Auto Trace

The updated Vectornator Auto Trace feature enables you to convert any raster image (JPEG or PNG) into vector artwork. With this feature, you can create a completely new image based on an existing piece of artwork or a reference photo without having to draw the vector shapes by hand. You can trace a sketch that you have drawn on paper into vector artwork and scale it as much as you like it.

The Vectornator Auto Trace feature can be used to convert your photos into beautiful, painting-like vector images or to turn your favorite logos into vectors.

Our latest update implemented a new tracing option, the Illustration Mode.

Each of our tracing modes will display specific parameters for optimal results.

auto trace sketch, photography and illustration in vectornator

How to Access the Auto Trace Panel

The Auto Trace Panel is a content-aware menu, which means that it will be only visible when an image is selected. As soon as an image on the canvas is selected, the panel will appear automatically at the top of the Inspector in the Style Tab  (1).

In the Auto Trace Panel, you have three Auto Trace modes available

  • A – The Photography Mode, for turning your photos into painting-like portraits.
  • B – The Sketch Mode to convert your sketches into vectors in seconds.
  • C - The Illustration Mode to vectorize your illustrations.

Press the Mode Button (2) to select which Auto Trace mode you want to use to trace your image.

auto trace panel in vectornator

The content-aware Auto Trace ~ic-auto-trace~~ic-auto-trace~ menu (3) pops up inside the Quick Actions Bar, as soon as you select an image.

auto trace illustration mode in vectornator
Auto Trace analyzes your image with the aid of the CoreML Machine Learning.

The Sketch Mode Parameters

When the Sketch Mode is selected (1), you will have two sliders available that will set the following parameters:

  • A – Complexity. A lower value will group smaller areas and vice versa.
  • B – Contrast This slider defines a threshold at which numeric value a color will be converted into black or white. Higher slider values will interpret more colors as black and lower slider values will interpret more colors as white.

Once you have adjusted these two settings, tap the Auto Trace Button and wait a few seconds until the process is finished.

auto trace vectornator sketch mode

Below, you can see examples of different parameter settings:

The Sketch Mode generates only a black and white vector output.

If you want to trace a low contrast image with the Sketch Mode, the contrast setting plays a crucial role in the quality of the final result.

auto trace tiger vector sketch

The Illustration Mode Parameters

When the Illustration Mode is selected (1), you will have a menu with a slider, three buttons, and two toggles available that control the following parameters:

  • A – Min Path Size. Here you can define the threshold for your path size. The higher the set value, the longer the path between points will be. The lower the set value, the shorter the distance between points will be. The shorter the path distance between points, the higher the resulting level of detail will be. The Min Path Size of the Illustration Mode is set to 10 by default.
  • B – Level of Details. This slider defines the level of detail that will be kept in the resulting traced vector image. You can choose between the levels Low, Regular and High. Low will reproduce a traced image with significantly less detail, whereas regular to high will include more detail from the original image in the final tracing result.
  • C – Simplify Path → If you activate Simplify Path, fewer nodes will be created. The mode is best suited for tracing motifs with simple and uncomplicated lines. If the mode is activated, the tracing process will take less time.
  • D – Keep Source Image. If you activate Keep Source Image, the original raster image will be kept and organized below the traced vector image in the layer hierarchy. The original raster image will be grouped with the traced vector image in the Layers Tab.

Once you have adjusted the settings mentioned above, tap the Auto Trace Button and wait a few seconds until the tracing process is finished.

Example of how Autotrace works
The Illustration Mode is only applicable on an A12 processor or its corresponding devices, such as the iPhone XR / iPad Air 3rd gen and newer, and M1 MacBooks or higher.

Below, you can see examples of different parameter settings:

  1. For complex illustrations, we recommend you set the Min Path Size values around 10-20% and set the Level of Detail to High. (For the example below we set the Min Path Size to 12%)
Artwork by Kelly Llanos
  1. You can use the Illustration Mode for flat illustrations. In this case, we recommend you to reduce the Min Path Size values to 0% and set the Level of Detail to Low.
Example of how Autotrace works with flat illustrations
  1. You can use the Illustration Mode for your painting illustrations too, as the example below. In this case, we set the Min Path Size value to 10% and the Level of Detail to High as the artwork contains several details. If there’s any gradient, the Auto Trace will merge all gradient into one color. You can check the results by activating the Outline Mode.
If you want to learn more about the development process behind the new Illustration Mode feature, read the Interview with our developer Marko

How to Optimize Auto Trace Results

Since our latest 4.8.2 update, we have introduced three brand new Auto Trace toggles that help you improve your workflow and obtain optimal tracing results. These new toggles are Simplify (1),  Ignore White (2), and Keep Source Image (3). Below, we’ll give you a brief overview of their attributes and functions. The Auto Trace button is now colored in blue for better user orientation.

convert image into vector shapes

Auto Trace will create vector shapes with fewer nodes if you activate the toggle ~ic-toggle-on~~ic-toggle-on~ Simplify. This mode is optimal for tracing an image with simple, uncomplicated shapes. If you activate the simplify mode, the time required for the tracing process will be significantly reduced.

simplify comparison of image as vector shapes

When you activate the Sketch Mode in Auto Trace, you then have the option to toggle the Ignore White feature on and off.  With the new Ignore White feature, you can define if Auto Trace creates vector shapes out of white image areas or not.  When Ignore White is turned on while in Sketch Mode, all the white areas of the source image will be erased.

If you trace an image with the Ignore White toggle turned on ~ic-toggle-on~~ic-toggle-on~, the tracing process results are shapes organized as compound paths. This means that any path-related editing will affect the entire compound path structure. You can create a compound path from two or more open or closed paths. When you create a compound path, all of the originally selected paths are converted to subpaths of a new compound path. The selected paths inherit the stroke and fill settings of the object the farthest back in the stacking order. If you want to separate the compound paths, select the paths and tap the Separate icon button in the Path Tab.

When Ignore White is turned off ~ic-toggle-off~~ic-toggle-off~, the resulting paths from the tracing process will be organized as a group, visible inside the Layers Tab.

comparison of auto trace results in Vectornator without white

If you activate Keep Source Image ~ic-toggle-on~~ic-toggle-on~, the original image will be kept after the tracing process is finished. The original image is organized below the newly traced image in the layer hierarchy. Both layers, the traced image, and the original image are grouped in the Layers Tab ~ic-layers-tab~~ic-layers-tab~.

The Photography Mode Parameters

The Photography Panel contains two sliders, which allow you to set the number of paths and the path size:

  • A – Complexity. This slider adjusts how many paths your vectorized image will have. By moving your finger along the slider, you can adjust the percentage of paths your vectorized image will contain. A lower value will give you a more abstract result, and a higher value will result in a more detailed path.
  • B – Minimum Path Size.  This slider sets the threshold for your path size. A higher value creates longer paths between points, resulting in a less detailed image, a lower value will generate shorter paths between points, producing a greater level of detail.

Once you have adjusted these two settings, tap the Auto Trace Button (2) and wait a few seconds.

⚠️  Please take note that the Auto Trace feature does not support RGBA images that contain an 8-bit Alpha Channel.  Auto Trace interprets 8-bit Alpha Channel pixels as black instead of white.

How to Edit the Vectorized Image

Once your image has been transformed into vector shapes, you can edit the paths afterward.

⚠️   The Auto Trace feature is a destructive operation, meaning that once you have converted the image into vectors, you can no longer access or adjust the tracing options. The only option to revert the changes is by undoing the operation.

To edit your traced image, you can either add or remove nodes using the Node Tool, or you can go to the Path Tab and adjust the vectorized shapes by tapping the Delete Nodes button.

Video Recap | Auto Trace

The power of vectors has now been taken further. The Vectornator Auto Trace feature uses a custom algorithm to turn your sketches and photos into endlessly editable vector graphics. Rather than spend hours tracing over complex designs with the Pen Tool, Auto Trace does the hard work for you. Spend your time refining the details by creating or deleting paths, editing nodes, changing colors, and much more.

Auto Trace works great with black and white sketches thanks to our Sketch Mode. In the video, we show you different examples to better adjust the Complexity and Contrast parameters to get the perfect level of detail in your vectorized sketch.

Download
Download the PDF version here.
Last Updated on Aug 30, 2022
Master the Power of Vectornator

Expand your skills and tackle the next challenge, our tutorials and courses will help you to master vector design on a professional level.

Go to Academy